Bike Rides

Date: 
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Miles: 
33
Bike: 
Tandem
Buddies: 
January

day 1 mini-loop

IMG_7400.jpg

Ready to ride
At the waterfront park getting started.
Date: 
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Miles: 
20
Bike: 
Tandem
Buddies: 
January

One more practice ride before mini-Loop. 

Date: 
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Miles: 
34
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Saturday, July 14, 2018
Miles: 
38
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Friday, July 13, 2018
Miles: 
56
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Miles: 
5
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Miles: 
48
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Miles: 
38
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Monday, July 9, 2018
Miles: 
52
Bike: 
Ravn
Date: 
Sunday, July 8, 2018
Miles: 
45
Bike: 
Ravn
Buddies: 
MVBC

Cold morning but the route started climbing right away. Back up from the wide prairie to 5,889' at the summit. Then 20 miles downhill to Prairie City. Second breakfast which I regretted because the service was so slow and the day was getting hot. 

Then east on 26, now following the route of my 3010 tour.  Soon came a brutal hot climb. The first part to the prairie schooner was the worst. We all stopped and took shelter inside the display which was funneling through a nice cool breeze. Spent a good deal of time recovering before heading out. 

The rest of the climb was not as bad. Still very hot but every now and then a cloud would roll by or a breeze would spring up. I stopped a lot. There were some shady places which were delightfully cool as we gained elevation. The summit was 5280'. 

Then a long downhill to Austin House. The heat picked up as we lost altitude. Camping out back is very nice.